Monday, December 1, 2008

Abarat: Days of Magic, Nights of War by Clive Barker

"I dreamed I spoke in another's language,
I dreamed I lived in another's skin,
I dreamed I was my own beloved,
I dreamed I was a tiger's kin.

I dreamed that Eden lived inside me,
And when I breathed a garden came,
I dreamed I knew all of Creation,
I dreamed I knew the Creator's name.

I dreamed--and this dream was the finest--
That all I dreamed was real and true,
And we would live in joy forever,
You in me, and me in you."

— Clive Barker (Abarat, Book 2: Days of Magic, Nights of War)

So begins the journey of Candy Quackenbush in Abarat, Book 2: Days of Magic, Nights of War. The beginning is has a slow build-up. I almost am inclined to think that Barker wasn't sure if this was going to be the last book in the Abarat series or not when he began writing this story. Once things get rolling, it's a hard book to set down. The reader delves deeper into Candy's history and lineage, uncovering secrets and connections hidden in the first book. Also, the reader becomes better acquainted with Abarat and the twenty-five islands of The Hours. A must read for any fan of the series or anyone looking to get lost in a magical world where anything is possible.

No comments:

Post a Comment